Scolring - Forum

Entraides et échanges autour de la technologie Scol - Informations and exchanges on the Scol technology

Vous pouvez changer la langue de l'interface une fois inscrit - You can change the language once registered

You are not logged in.

#1 9-Oct-2017 15:15:39

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

AR Android Export

Hi everyone,
I don't understand what is happening with the apps i try to create with OpenSpace3D.
I have tried a dozen times to export one of my scenes to Android, but each time i could not see it when i was aiming at the ar marker. I have modified the scale several times (of the marker and of the model). I achieved to see a part of my scene the first time i made it, but it was too big so i had to reduce the scale, but this doesn't seem to work anymore.
My model is a map exported from QGis (thx to a plugin called qgis2threejs) and modified with Meshlab.
If someone could help me that would be fine wink

Cordialement.

2017-41-1-1507557485-porquerolles.png

Last edited by denikine (9-Oct-2017 15:21:57)


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#2 9-Oct-2017 15:21:57

arkeon
Admin. / Scol language & OpenSpace3D developer
From: Nantes
Registered: 30-Mar-2009
Posts: 3,964
Website

Re: AR Android Export

Hello and welcome,

you should define the marker size on your model and test with a webcam on your computer before you try on Android. (it should work the same).

If your model size is 1 meter long, and you want it on the marker, then the marker should also be set to 1 meter.

Offline

#3 9-Oct-2017 15:23:59

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

Thanks a lot to welcome me.

I did it already, it was about the same size of the model.
The model and the marker are about 80 cm.

Last edited by denikine (9-Oct-2017 15:24:43)


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#4 9-Oct-2017 15:29:14

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

I defined the size of the marker and i saw the marker under my model and about the same size.


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#5 9-Oct-2017 15:40:07

arkeon
Admin. / Scol language & OpenSpace3D developer
From: Nantes
Registered: 30-Mar-2009
Posts: 3,964
Website

Re: AR Android Export

The common mistake is to set le model on the marker but with a model that have a wrong pivot axis.
What you can do to override this is to add a dummy.
then move your model as a child of the dummy.
Move the model over the dummy position so the dummy will be at the center of the model.
and use this dummy on the ar marker plugIt.

Offline

#6 9-Oct-2017 16:05:09

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

I tried it, and i checked again the video tutorial, but it still doesn't work.
I don't know what else i can try.


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#7 9-Oct-2017 16:07:11

arkeon
Admin. / Scol language & OpenSpace3D developer
From: Nantes
Registered: 30-Mar-2009
Posts: 3,964
Website

Re: AR Android Export

try with an another 3D model first to learn, you can use a model from the 3D library.
then try again from scratch with your model.
If it's working on windows and not on android, it can be because of the model complexity or texture size

Offline

#8 9-Oct-2017 16:10:31

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

ok thanks, i'll try something more modest to begin.

Last edited by denikine (9-Oct-2017 16:11:11)


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#9 10-Oct-2017 09:40:15

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

i managed to do it! thx a lot!!


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#10 10-Oct-2017 10:18:28

arkeon
Admin. / Scol language & OpenSpace3D developer
From: Nantes
Registered: 30-Mar-2009
Posts: 3,964
Website

Re: AR Android Export

Great you're welcome smile

Offline

#11 12-Oct-2017 09:28:35

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

Hi again,
i got the same problem but this time with another model. i could not see it on android but i could on windows, so i reduced the quality of the model by beginning again the export in OS3D like you said. I also reduced the size, the scale, the quality of the camera, i increased it, i modified the marker... i don't know what i haven't changed wink !

1507795980-portissol-ar.png

what are the recommended parameters for an export to android? how many polygons and vertices should i have?


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#12 12-Oct-2017 09:58:43

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

i also tried with demos objects with a lot of vertices and polygons, and it worked, so i'm wondering.


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#13 12-Oct-2017 10:33:34

arkeon
Admin. / Scol language & OpenSpace3D developer
From: Nantes
Registered: 30-Mar-2009
Posts: 3,964
Website

Re: AR Android Export

Hello,

what is the original file format of the model ?
on import in OS3D did you check the case that split the model in several subentities (so it can work on android for large meshes more than 65535 vertices)

Offline

#14 12-Oct-2017 10:39:40

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

it is an obj file, exported from qgis.

yes, i verified that it was checked.


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#15 12-Oct-2017 10:48:03

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

1507800728-capture.png

this is one of my try, with a model i exported without checking the "split large meshes" box.
if my model is less than 65535 vertices, is there a problem if i check this box?


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#16 12-Oct-2017 10:50:24

arkeon
Admin. / Scol language & OpenSpace3D developer
From: Nantes
Registered: 30-Mar-2009
Posts: 3,964
Website

Re: AR Android Export

No it do nothing

Offline

#17 12-Oct-2017 11:40:33

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

do you have an idea why it doesn't work? i feel frustrated because my model seems so beautiful on the computer and i can't even see it with my phone wink


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#18 12-Oct-2017 11:45:28

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

1507804193-capture1.png

i tried a mix with a demo model. the two models appear on my computer, but on my phone i can only see the car.


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#19 12-Oct-2017 12:19:46

arkeon
Admin. / Scol language & OpenSpace3D developer
From: Nantes
Registered: 30-Mar-2009
Posts: 3,964
Website

Re: AR Android Export

Check the material settings and texture size on your model.
if the texture is too big for the android device memory it won't show up.

Offline

#20 12-Oct-2017 14:24:37

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

ok, i finally managed to make something appear by increasing the quality of my model ( i mean, i think it is because of that).


....BUT.... now my model appears black! (in the app, not with windows).
is there a common mistake which could explain that?


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#21 12-Oct-2017 14:41:01

arkeon
Admin. / Scol language & OpenSpace3D developer
From: Nantes
Registered: 30-Mar-2009
Posts: 3,964
Website

Re: AR Android Export

Same as before, generally a bad material settings or texture format / or size
Try to resize the object texture in 1024x1024 pixels for example

Offline

#22 12-Oct-2017 14:57:31

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

ok thanks alot, i try it.


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#23 12-Oct-2017 15:34:16

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

that was the solution! i almost finished my app thanks to you!
it is amazing!


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

#24 12-Oct-2017 16:05:24

arkeon
Admin. / Scol language & OpenSpace3D developer
From: Nantes
Registered: 30-Mar-2009
Posts: 3,964
Website

Re: AR Android Export

smile

Offline

#25 13-Oct-2017 11:48:53

denikine
Member
From: Sanary s/ Mer
Registered: 9-Oct-2017
Posts: 20
Website

Re: AR Android Export

ok, i am really sorry to disturb again, but i can't export my app to my company's tablet, while i managed to do it on my personal phone. the tablet is an archos 101d Neon. i reduced the resolution, size etc of the texture, but my model still doesn't appear.
I looked on the internet and i saw that the camera was 3MP, which seems really low to me.  but i managed to see other models (like the demo car showroom) so i am wondering.


Etudiant MMI alternant chez Semantic TS

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB